Elder_Drake

Thoughts on Seasonal Wipes

Elder_Drake

I have heard rumblings that Nakita is considering wipes after launch for "seasons" and have seen that echoed by at least one Sherpa on the boards and I have to say that the thought of wipes after launch is depressing as can be. I understand that people finish everything and get bored, but is the solution to have us repeat the same stuff over and over because I've been doing that for 2 years and it is not fun. I simply tell myself there is new content and mechanics so lets go and leave it be with a nice fresh start to check it all out while giving the team fresh metrics to develop the game, but after launch? No thank you.

An idea I had, if this happens, to mitigate the impact while still keeping things fresh would be to implement say a Prestige system akin to Payday 2 where maybe special skills and/or clothing options unlock every Prestige level (hit level 40 or 50 and reset) to act as an incentive to reset. There are a lot of ideas to add to that system that go from special base unlocks, to special traders, and so much more. Or if we are reset let us keep our skills where they are at or worse case halve them. The thought of leveling these damn skills every "season" is demoralizing as I am a family man and do not have the time to work this game like a job.

My .02 and happy hunting out there gents.

DrBloom

I think it comes down to how far they space the wipes, I would imagine its gonna be a pretty decent amount of time between wipes, definitely not like it is now.

bulldog1986

You didn't hear the whole story then. Nik mentioned having a separate character that would seasonally wipe alongside your permanent character.

DrBloom

Wouldn't that end up like Diablo though? where everyone just plays seasonal and the 1% still play normally?

Hamm

season wipes are just as dumb as wipes now.