RyuBlade94

I won't be able to play with my buddy due to recent ping changes

RyuBlade94
Posted (edited)

Ever since a year i started playing tarkov with a friend of mine, we're both from Italy. A

His connection is very bad, and even though it's somewhat a temporary situation (he'll have to move out soon.. when the whole coronavirus situation will be over), with the recent ping changes we won't be able to play together.

His ping is usually under 250ms, which is the ping required for the server to kick you, but from time to time, during the match, he gets lag spikes that go over that 250ms mark. This, with the coronavirus situation and everyone staying home, started happening at least once or twice every evening. We did try to play yesterday, and as soon as it happened he was kicked out and lost all of his gear.

Let me explain a bit better: we're both from Italy. Italy, sadly, is not fully covered by fiber and the copper wires that we had before fiber and that provided everyone ADSL are very, very, very old and bad. Usually in cities internet providers usually end up giving everyone at least the minimum bandwith they have to provide by contract.

However it's not that easy to have a decent connection when you live outsite cities and where there are just a small number of houses, which is basically the case for my friend i play with. He's above the minimum bandwith required most of the times, but sometimes he drops below that. In the evening usually the situation with his line gets worse and ping goes higher and quite some spikes.

Now.. needless to say with coronavirus and with everyone staying home situation got worse for everyone, expecially for his connection and for people that live outside of cities in general.