GymTime

Feeling defeated, I can't seem to kill anyone

GymTime
Posted (edited)

I have almost 200 hours in-game playing solo. My kill count is 4 PMCs. 3 of those were against ungeared players where I managed to head shot them while they were looting. Pathetic, I know.

I've been gaming for around 20 years and do well on other FPS games, but really struggling with Tarkov. I've practiced all kinds of strategies, practiced a ton in offline raids, studied the maps. I have no problem clearing a raid of all AI Scavs/bosses offline. But against other players I just can't win.

I thought when I hit level 10 and had access to buy good ammo, that would help, but it doesn't seem to be working.

I just lost 300k on Customs, geared up with level 4 armor and helmet, fully modded AK, with tons of mags full of 5.45 BS rounds. Within the first minute, see a guy running toward me, I aim, hit him 5 times (tried to aim for thorax/head but he was moving so was hard to tell) but may have hit center mass. He runs behind cover, I get behind cover, he peaks and I hit him 2 more times. He then proceeds to one shot me in the Thorax and I die.

Post damage screen says I took away 188 health and 21 was absorbed by armor. 7 hits but I barely did anything to him.

I've played lots of realistic/simulator shooters and am good at positioning and getting the drop on someone. Yet in Tarkov, even when I get the first shots off and dump multiple rounds into someone, they never die. Then in return, they kill me in 1-2 shots. I've had cases of hitting someone 22+ times with no luck.

I kept reading "use better ammo" and I'm running better ammo now but even with my most recent fights using the upper tier ammo, I've managed to land anywhere from 5-10 hits and never get the kill.